Accidents happen. We've all navigated away from a page while in the middle of a task or closed our browser. This is why Higher Logic Vanilla automatically saves your work while writing a Discussion, Question, Idea, or Comment. Your post is saved every few seconds, ensuring you never have to worry about losing any progress.
- If you use Vanilla's Knowledge Base feature, articles are also automatically saved.
- Polls cannot be saved as drafts.
- When writing Discussions, Questions, Ideas, and Comments, no visual indication is given when your work is saved (but have no fear, it is!). A visual indicator is provided when writing knowledge base articles, however.
For even more peace of mind, you can also manually save your posts via the Save Draft button. Upon manually saving, you'll see a small popup at the bottom left of your screen with the time the draft was saved.
Manage your saved drafts
Your drafts are saved on a dedicated page for easy access when you want to resume your work on them.
- In the Quick Links area, click My Drafts.
The resulting page lists all of your current drafts, ready to be completed at your convenience.
- Click a post title (or anywhere in the row) to view a draft.
- Click the X to delete a draft. Note that no confirmation is given, and the draft is removed immediately.
Disable auto save
If you don't want your Vanilla community to automatically save drafts while users are creating content, you can turn this feature off.
- Access the Dashboard.
- Navigate to the Settings > Forum > Posting page.
- In the Rules section, toggle OFF the Automatically Save Drafts option.
- Click Save at the bottom of the page to apply your change.
When posting, users can now only manually save drafts via the editor's Save Draft button.