This feature was first made in available in the 2020.005 release.
Knowledge permissions are used to control which user roles are able to view and/or add content to your Knowledge Base.
Per-Knowledge Base Permissions can also be enabled to give you and your team more granular control over who can view and/or create content for an individual Knowledge Base.
Enabling Knowledge Permissions
To make your Knowledge Bases available to your users, you will first need to visit the Roles & Permissions section of your Dashboard Settings. Here you can edit specific roles and under the "Knowledge" header, enable the "KB -> View" permission and/or the "Articles -> Add" and "Articles -> Manage" permissions.
KB View Permission
The KB -> View permission allows users to view the Knowledge (aka Help) section of your community. Users with this permission are able to view your Knowledge Bases, read your articles and search your content.
By default, all users with the "KB ->View" permission will be able to read, search, and react to all Knowledge Base articles. In your Knowledge Base settings, you can to enable custom permissions for individual Knowledge Bases to add or remove view access from specific roles. See Per-Knowledge Base Permissions for more info.
Articles Add / Manage Permissions
Users with the "Articles -> Add" permission can add articles to existing KBs (but not create the KBs themselves).
Users with the "Articles -> Manage" permission can edit, delete and restore articles, as well as create, organize, and delete categories,
By default, all users with the "Articles-->Add" and "Articles -> Manage" permissions will be able to create, edit, delete and restore articles, as well as create, organize, and delete categories, in all Knowledge Bases. In your Knowledge Base settings, you can to enable custom permissions for individual Knowledge Bases to add or remove this level of access from specific roles. See Per-Knowledge Base Permissions for more info.
Per-Knowledge Base Permissions
You may have some Knowledge Bases that should only be accessible to specific groups of users. You might have an internal Knowledge Base that should only be viewable by your staff, for example. Once you've set up your General KB Permissions, you can then go into the Knowledge Base section of your Dashboard Settings and edit individual Knowledge Bases to configure custom permissions per KB.
On each KB settings page you will find a Permissions tab where you can enable custom permissions. When custom permissions are enabled, two fields will appear that will allow you to input the roles that are able to view and/or create content in this specific KB.
Roles identified as "Viewers" will be able to read, search and react to all content in this specific Knowledge Base. Roles that are excluded from this list will not be able to access this KB.
Roles identified as "Content Creators" will be able to create, edit and delete articles as well as, create, organize and delete categories in this specific Knowledge Base. Roles that are excluded from this list will not be able to create content in this KB.