In the course of regular forum maintenance, you may need to move posts from one category to another. There are a few ways that you can accomplish this:
Using the the Cogwheel
On the discussion list as well as on the discussion page itself, you will see a cogwheel with a 'move' option
Once you click move, you will see a dialog box allowing you to choose what category the discussion should be moved into, and whether or not you should leave a redirect link (usually only opted into if the post is browser bookmarked by a great deal of folks).
Using the checkboxes
This method is great when you have more than 1 discussion to move to the same place, simply click as many discussions as you'd like, then select move:
Once you click move, you will see a dialog box allowing you to choose what category the discussion(s) should be moved into, and whether or not you should leave a redirect link (usually only opted into if the post is browser bookmarked by a great deal of folks).
By deleting an entire category
This option is mostly used when archiving a category, or merging two categories.
If you go to dashboard - settings - categories, then select 'delete' for a particular category, you will see this option:
Be sure to review the receiving category's permissions beforehand.
Please note this is an irreversible action, neither support nor your csm can reverse this.
Troubleshooting - Permissions
You have have noticed when reading our Roles and permissions doc, that there is no 'move' permission.
Moving posts actually requires 2 permissions: the
delete permission for the category that the post is being moved from, and the
add permission for the receiving category.