Heya,
So in the Social Groups documentation it says to take away the VIEW permissions for all roles for the Social Group Category.
I only just realized that our forum hadn't done that… which meant that this Category showed up on our Category page (yay!) but that when someone clicked on it they saw a full list of all discussions happening in private Groups! 😦 If a member clicked on a post it would give them an error, saying they didn't have permissions… but they could see quite a lot from the Title of the post and the little description.
For example, this is a View from a regular member: